Seeking Advice - 13th/14th Century Kit

Moderator: Moderators

lossefion

Seeking Advice - 13th/14th Century Kit

Postby lossefion » Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:07 am

Hello all.

I'm currently seeking to create both a man-at-arm's kit and nobleman's kit for the period just prior to or during the Scottish Wars of Independence. I have been collecting kit for several years now, but am looking for accuracy. I do have references to several brasses on tombs from the period, but I would like some more advice on what to have. My thought is a kit for one of the more notable families involved in the wars on either side of the Border. I am also looking for soft kit materials. I have a friend who's helping me with the patterns.

I currently possess a riveted coif, riveted haubergeon w/short sleeves, separate riveted mail mittens, with black leather backing, a padded coif and gambeson, two chausses (butted mail, looking to replace with riveted eventually), a black sword belt (not period accurate), a Hanwei blade w/scabbard (looking to upgrade as well), two heater-type shields - one plain, one painted (Sinclair), two surcoats of differing heraldry (Douglas and Sinclair families), buckled boots.

What would I need to represent either of these people fighting on foot or indeed horseback? Any comments would be welcomed.

Thalion

Re: Seeking Advice - 13th/14th Century Kit

Postby Thalion » Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:24 am

Hi,

Maybe I can help with the equipment as I'm a 1250's Re-enactor, a hospitaller (Forefront of technology I might add) but I should still be able to help you out.

lossefion wrote:a Hanwei blade w/scabbard (looking to upgrade as well)