ladies hair

Moderator: Moderators

Shortie

ladies hair

Postby Shortie » Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:51 am

hia, does anyone know if ladies cut their hair short in the 13th century? With my impression i'll be wearing a coif most of the time, but it got me thinking about it.

I'm not short, its everyone else that's too big! :D
www.freewebs.com/womenofww2

rowana

Re: ladies hair

Postby rowana » Fri Aug 27, 2010 9:30 am

I am pretty sure from what I have read, ladies never cut their hair, bar extreme illness.

But as you say, you will have a coifor headdress of some kind and a woman would not show her hair anyway so it won't matter :)

Shortie

Postby Shortie » Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:55 pm

Thank you :)

rowana

Postby rowana » Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:06 pm

That's okay- I am not a expert by any means and my period if war of the roses so later in the medieval period, I believe there was a use of fake hair in the 13th century in order to make bigger buns and braids under headresses. Ask you group for advice as they will have better infomation than me :)

Fox
Absolute Wizard

Postby Fox » Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:26 pm

If your interested in posher hair arrangments for any reason Kats Hats (http://www.kats-hats.co.uk/) do a fabulous selection of headdresses (including fake hair). I'm sure she would have something would cover a modern haircut.

Ellen Gethin

Postby Ellen Gethin » Sun Sep 05, 2010 6:51 pm

According to Gerald of Wales, (who knew everything) Welsh women did cut their hair, and had more or less the same pudding bowl style as the men (but without the moustaches). This comes somewhere in his Description of Wales, 1180ish.

"Take wrong turns, talk to strangers, open unmarked doors. And if you see a group of people in a field, go find out what they're doing."
JimmyB27, absolutewrite

Lady Cecily

Postby Lady Cecily » Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:58 pm